Signed in October 1983 in Libreville, Gabon, the treaty creating the Economic Community of Central Africa States (ECCAS) entered into force in December 1984. It comprises of ten member States: the Republic of Angola, Burundi, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Congo, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Gabon, Equatorial Guinea, the Democratic Republic of Sao Tome and Principe and Chad.
The targeted goals of this regional body are the promotion and reinforcement of a harmonious cooperation and a dynamic development, balanced and self-managed in all domains of social and economic activity, particularly in the domains of industry, transport, communication, energy, agriculture, natural resources, trade, customs, monetary and financial issues, human resources, tourism, education, culture, science and technology and the movement of persons to realise the collective autonomy and improve the living conditions of the population.
Due to the socio-political unrest and armed conflicts in the majority of its member States, ECCAS, apart from traditional cooperation and regional integration missions, committed itself to promote peace and stability in Central Africa as well as sustain the electoral process within the member States.
It is in this vein that Central Africa States take collective measures to fight against piracy by putting in place, in October 2009, a global structure of common maritime security, the Central Africa Regional Centre for Maritime Security [known in its French acronym as CRESMAC], based in Pointe-Noire (Congo). The ECCAS maritime security strategy is based on six pillars which are as follows:
The common information management; local surveillance measures by the detection and mutualisation of air and naval means; legal and functional harmonisation of States’ maritime operation; self-financing through a Community tax; purchase and maintenance of equipment dedicated to the strategy; and the institutionalization of a maritime conference for Central Africa.